Een serie interviews, bestaande uit 3 consultants die ieder een ander perspectief hebben op wat het IRP is. Elk met een ander verhaal, leuke quotes en tips voor aankomende sollicitanten. Ja, het is een longread. Maar wel een hele leuke!

Onze derde interviewee is Anne. Anne was afgelopen jaar student consultant bij het IRP. Ze vertelt over opgroeien in Zuid-Amerika, de invloed van taal op het IRP, en waarom iedereen moet solliciteren voor de positie van student consultant.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Hoi Anne. Jij bent dus IRP lid geweest.  

Ja. Supertrots lid, haha!

Hoe ben je bij het IRP terecht gekomen?

Op de introductiedag van mijn master zag ik een hele grote poster van het IRP. Het project sprak me direct erg aan, mede omdat ik in Zuid Amerika ben opgegroeid, en het project in Colombia was. Het was voor mij een mooie kans om terug naar dat continent te gaan. Niet alleen om lol te maken, maar ook om iets nuttigs te doen.

Had je twijfels over het IRP voordat je eraan begon?

Ik hoopte dat het niet te lastig zou worden om het project met mijn studie te combineren. Maar uiteindelijk heb ik alles netjes gehaald. Daarnaast hoop je natuurlijk dat je klikt met de mensen in de groep. Zeker tijdens de maand in het buitenland is het belangrijk dat je goed met elkaar op kunt schieten. Je bent immers 24/7 met je groepje. Gelukkig kwam ook dat helemaal goed.

Je werd aangenomen als student consultant, hoe ging dat vervolgens?  

Het bestuur had een leuk introductiegesprek bedacht op de eerste avond waardoor we iedereen konden leren kennen. Daarna hadden we in de kick-off periode een hoop trainingen op het gebied van consultancy en sales. Hierdoor breng je al best veel tijd met elkaar door. Zeker omdat je het vaak combineert met uit eten gaan en borrelen. Op die manier leer je elkaar snel kennen.

Wat heb je allemaal gedaan bij het IRP?

Als student consultant ben je in eerste instantie bezig met sales en het acquisitieproces om de onderzoeksprojecten binnen te halen. Dat houdt in dat je heel veel belt met elkaar en met verschillende bedrijven. Ook plan je brainstormsessies in met andere student consultants om te kijken hoe je het proces van acquisitie beter aan kunt pakken. Vragen als: ‘hebben we nog waardevolle contacten in ons eigen netwerk, waar we misschien nog via via iets aan hebben?’ komen vaak naar voren. Daarna begint het onderzoek zelf en ga je op reis.

Hoe heb je het multidisciplinaire karakter van het project ervaren?

Het heeft meerwaarde dat iedereen een andere studieachtergrond heeft. Het maakt het leuk om nieuwe mensen te leren kennen. Zelf ben ik opgegroeid in een internationaal milieu, en sommigen waren bijvoorbeeld minder comfortabel met de Spaanse of Engelse taal. iedereen helpt elkaar hiermee, dat was mooi om te zien.

Je bent opgegroeid in Zuid-Amerika, spreek je vloeiend spaans?

Ja. Of nouja, zet me een maandje in Colombia en ik spreek weer vloeiend Spaans. We hadden in de groep vier of vijf mensen die Spaans spreken. Toen de rest van de groep Spaanse les ging volgen, gingen wij met zijn vieren of vijven borrelen met elkaar en gingen we samen de taal oefenen. Er was één persoon die echt vloeiend Spaans sprak. Dat hielp ons enorm.

Is het nodig om de taal te spreken van het land waarin je onderzoek doet?

Nee, absoluut niet. Sommige groepjes hadden iemand die Spaans sprak maar er waren ook een paar groepjes waar niemand Spaans sprak. Die zijn er ook uitgekomen. Echter, het kan wel helpen bij bepaalde interviews. In principe hebben we met co-mates gewerkt, universitaire studenten uit Colombia. Zij hebben ons geholpen met het begrijpen van de cultuur en mogelijke taalbarrières. Ondanks dat kom je nog steeds grappige situaties tegen. Bijvoorbeeld tijdens ons eerste interview. We hadden onszelf voorgesteld en een kort praatje gehouden. Toen zei iemand uit ons groepje: “he jongens, zullen we beginnen?” De Colombianen keken ons vervolgens raar aan en zeiden: “Ho eens, we zijn in Colombia. We moeten wel echt een langer introductiepraatje houden dan dit..”

Dus ondanks dat je in Zuid-Amerika bent opgegroeid heb je toch een unieke ervaring gehad?

Ja, absoluut! Ik heb in de Dominicaanse Republiek, Venezuela en de Verenigde Staten gewoond. Echter, op het moment dat je naar een land afreist en je doel business is, ervaar je het toch op een andere manier. Anders dan wanneer je ergens op vakantie gaat, of gaat rondreizen.

Wat heb je geleerd van  een jaar IRP?

Ik had nog niet zo’n goed beeld van wat consultancy precies inhield. Dus daar heb ik veel over geleerd. Ook deed ik onderzoek over een onderwerp waar ik nog niet eerder mee te maken heb gehad.

Daarnaast heb ik ook veel geleerd van de sales en acquisitie. Het is best spannend om belangrijke mensen te bellen van een bedrijf waar je het project aan moet pitchen. Gelukkig hebben we hier een hoop trainingen voor gehad. Tot slot heb ik veel geleerd over groepsdynamiek. Elke groep is anders, en de manier van samenwerken moet per groep bekeken en gefinetuned worden.

Hoe zorg je dat je met een team goed kan samenwerken?

Door jezelf zo open mogelijk op te stellen en eerlijk te zijn over je verwachtingen. Als je weet dat er bepaalde knelpunten zijn, dan stel je elkaar hiervan op de hoogte. Met goede communicatie bespaar je jezelf een hoop problemen.

Heb je gevoel dat je praktische kennis hebt opgedaan?

Absoluut. Dat begon al met de trainingen die we hebben gevolgd afgelopen jaar. We hadden specifieke consultancy trainingen, maar bijvoorbeeld ook een training over strategie. Je kunt echt zien hoe de theorieën die je leert in de collegezaal toegepast kunnen worden in de praktijk. Dat is leerzaam.

Wat vond je van de onderzoeksmaand?

Geweldig. Het was even wennen dat je met twee mensen slaapt, eet, werkt, woont en drinkt. Je doet alles met elkaar. Het is belangrijk dat je er positief in staat en dat je er zin in hebt. Gelukkig was dat in onze groep bij alle 18 het geval! Toen we op locatie waren zijn we op interviews gegaan en zijn we gaan netwerken om mensen te vinden die we konden interviewen. Daarnaast zijn we in Bogota en Medellin geweest. Het was leuk om verschillende  indrukken van Colombia op te kunnen doen.

We deden onderzoek voor een bedrijf in de spoorwegindustrie die enkel engineers in hun bedrijf hebben werken. Ze wilden een onderzoek laten uitvoeren door mensen met een achtergrond in bedrijfskunde. Onze onderzoeksvraag was: hoe kun je vervoer efficiënter maken door middel van het gebruik van big data? Hier wist ik niets vanaf. Het was erg interessant om dit in Colombia uit te voeren, omdat het per stad verschillend is hoe het openbaar vervoer is ingestoken. Er was niet zoveel informatie te vinden op het internet, dus we hebben geprobeerd zoveel mogelijk mensen te spreken. Uiteindelijk hebben we een heel breed spectrum aan mensen gesproken.

Waarom zouden mensen volgens jou moeten solliciteren voor het IRP?

Het onderwijssysteem van de universiteit is gericht op de theorie, terwijl veel studenten het zien als een voorbereiding op het werkende leven. Het IRP speelt daarop in door naast je studie een ontzettend praktisch project aan te bieden. Daarnaast is het een sociale ervaring en staat het goed op je cv.  Het is echt een allround experience waarbij persoonlijke ontwikkeling, praktische kennis en internationale ervaring centraal staan. Zeker als je nog niet zoveel werkervaring hebt opgedaan of stages hebt gelopen, is dit een manier om praktische ervaring op te doen. Ik zou het echt iedereen aanraden.

Heb je nog tips voor aankomende student consultants?

Houd de moed er in als je denkt: hoe gaan we de opdrachten op tijd binnenhalen?

Elk jaar is het gelukt en ons is het afgelopen jaar ook weer gelukt. Je wordt, naarmate de tijd vordert , steeds zekerder in je omgang met mensen uit het bedrijfsleven en je salespitch. Gebruik elkaars kennis om je skills te verbeteren en met elkaar te brainstormen over de beste aanpak van het acquisitieproces.

Ter afsluiting: heb je bijzondere momenten meegemaakt tijdens de reis?

Tijdens ons sluitingsweekend kwamen we weer bij elkaar, na vier weken onderzoek. Sommige student consultants hadden elkaar tussendoor kunnen zien, maar anderen hadden elkaar vier weken niet gezien. Het was een ontzettend leuk weekend. We zijn een heel weekend alleen maar samen geweest en op zondagmiddag moesten we afscheid nemen van de hele groep. Toen heeft bij de helft van de groep gehuild. Je voelde de spanning al opbouwen. Veel mensen hadden het over het afscheid, gedurende het weekend. Op het exacte moment van afscheid zaten we in een kring. We vroegen elkaar: “wat was jouw mooiste moment?” Iedereen was in tranen. Niet omdat je elkaar niet meer gaat zien, maar omdat dit het moment is waarop het hele jaar binnendringt. Het is hard werken geweest en je maakt veel met elkaar mee, gedurende het jaar. Dat was een heel bijzonder moment voor mij.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Wil jij ook student consultant worden? Meld je dan nu aan via de volgende link: https://www.ma-amsterdam.nl/irp-vacancies/signup/

Deadline: 12 oktober 23:59

 

Creating a new Google AdWords campaign is a thrilling experience—a mix of the excitement of building something new, the anxiety of its outcome, a fear of failure, and a hope for success. You really want to be sure everything is right before clicking the “Enable” button on a new campaign.

In this guide, our friends at Whello give the most important tips to keep in mind before launching an AdWords campaign.

1. Let’s do some keyword research!
The most important component of a successful campaign is understanding the customer and what they want. If you advertise a product or service that your customers aren’t interested in, your campaign will not be successful no  matter how much money you spend on it. Therefore, it’s very important to understand the psychology of your customers and desirability of your product or service before constructing your first campaign.

Customer volume is also an important factor to consider. You need to analyze whether your investment can bring a high enough volume of customers to cover the amount of money you’ll spend to attract them.

You can use Google’s AdWords Keyword Suggestion Tool to figure out the search volume and competition level of the keywords you have in mind. All you need to do is get into your customers’ mindset and type in a phrase using your keywords. However, before you begin using the tool, ensure that the “Advanced Options” are set. Select the desired location, choose the language, and set the default device type as “Laptops/Desktops,” unless you’re exclusively targeting mobile devices. To get a sense of phrases relevant to your keyword, choose the “Phrase” match in the keyword “Match Type” setting.

While looking for keywords specific to your business or product, take into account the following:

● Invest in keywords that have high search volumes.
● Invest in keywords that indicate an intent to buy, rather than someone just searching for information.
● As explained further below, consider the affordability of each keyword. This is especially important if you’re looking at high-volume, high-competition keywords.

2. Do the math: comparing costs to budget
While you don’t need to know complex trigonometry, you will need to do basic math before investing your time and money to begin an AdWords campaign.

The first question to ask yourself is, “Can I afford this keyword?” Take a look at the following example to help you find the answer:

First of all, set a maximum cost-per-click (CPC) you think you can afford (let’s say €5 as an example). Now, use the Keyword Tool to compare your maximum CPC with the estimated CPC you get in the tool. Suppose the Keyword Tool places the cost of the keyword at €4, so you know you have a window of €1. That sounds like a good deal, so let’s look at the next step.

Your maximum cost-per-click depends on the conversion rate of your website, profit per customer, and your profit margin. If you don’t know the precise figures yet, you need to come up with estimate figures for each and do a little guess work. You’ll be tracking your campaign, so you’ll have more accurate figures soon to make better calculations.
In the meantime, here’s the formula you should use:

Max CPC = [(profit per customer) x (1 – profit margin) x (website conversion rate)]/100

Suppose your profit per customer is €200, with a profit margin of 50 percent and a conversion rate of 10 percent. By using the above formula, you can easily calculate the Max CPC:

Max CPC = [€200 x (1 – 0.5) x 10]/100 = €10
The maximum cost-per-click you’ve set should be close to the estimated CPC that is shown in the Keyword Tool. However, if your max CPC is way less than the estimated CPC, you’ll need to either decrease your profit margin or increase either the profit per customer or your website’s conversion rate.

3. Check out your competitors
Simply put, include competitor intelligence in your arsenal. Successful AdWords marketers identify the landing pages, keywords, and ads that perform best and those that do not. In other words, they sort and optimize their AdWords campaigns effectively. At Whello we use Keyword Planner, to see which keywords competitors bid on and what the average search volumes are.

4. Find your Unique Selling Point
You need to have a unique selling proposition (USP) that makes you stand apart from your competition. Customers consider why they should choose you and not your competitor. The key to your success lies in how you answer this for them.

Every marketing strategy is backed by a strong USP, and AdWords is no exception. There are three reasons why you need a powerful USP:

● It will generate more traffic while keeping unwanted leads at bay.
● It will boost your conversion rates.
● It’s a potential game changer that can eliminate price comparison shopping. If you’re offering something nobody else does, customers won’t think of you as a commodity, but as an opportunity.

The best way to create a powerful USP is to pay heed to your customers. Analyze their shopping patterns, see what they like, and find out what they don’t like about your industry. After that, take a look at your competitors’ ads, websites, keywords, and everything else, then come up with a unique selling proposition that nobody else offers.

5. Make it irresistible
You should offer something so amazing in your AdWords campaign that a potential buyer feels compelled to use your services, without even realizing it. This is called an irresistible offer and it has the following four components:

● Value:​ Your potential buyers should feel they’re getting more for their money. Your offer should sound like a great deal.
● Believable:​ The price should look reasonable, and not drastically less, or they’ll feel like something fishy is going on behind the scenes.
● Reduce​ ​Risk:​ Consumers are afraid of losing money to some cheap product or poor service, especially on the internet. Offering a money-back guarantee can reduce this risk to help new customers feel more comfortable shopping or doing business with you.
● Call​ ​to​ ​Action​ ​(CTA):​ Create a clear and simple CTA—the next step you want people to take. If you want your customers to call you, don’t make them dig around your website for your number. If you want them to fill out a form, put it front and center. It’s as simple as that.

6. And now make it efficient.
When you’re using AdWords search advertising, you pay only when your advertisements get clicks. With this in mind, your ads need to perform two important jobs for you:

● Attract relevant customers to your ads.
● Keep irrelevant customers at bay.

A successful campaign doesn’t simply bring in more traffic; it means more relevant traffic that brings in more sales, and less unqualified traffic eating into your advertising budget.

7. Landing pages matter
You shouldn’t direct every customer to your homepage, unless it’s the only page you’ve got (which isn’t a good idea for an online business).

A homepage tells a potential customer a lot about your business, but it probably doesn’t hone in on what was highlighted in your ad. A landing page should be focused only on what you advertised, providing all the information a potential customer needs to motivate them to take action.

Every ad should have a congruent landing page. If you’re offering deals on shoes, land your potential customers on a webpage that shows shoes, not on your homepage where they’ll need to figure out how to get to the page with shoes. If you’re offering a discount on a particular item, your ad should take customers to a page where they can buy that item.

8. Conversion tracking is key
It’s essential to analyze keywords and ads that bring you a high return on investment (ROI) and those that don’t. Tracking your conversions will not only help you manage your ads and keywords properly, you’ll also be able to make necessary changes to optimize your campaigns accordingly.

9. Customize what can be customized
What would you prefer: a “one-size-fits-all” hat or a hat that actually fits your head? The same goes for AdWords as well. You can’t run everything on default mode and expect brilliant results. You need to set up the following settings in your AdWords, and quickly:
a)​ ​Search​ ​vs.​ ​Display
Search and display are different types of advertising networks, which need different sets of keywords, ads, and landing pages to be effective. You should set up different campaigns to target these two different kinds of networks.
b)​ ​Device​ ​Bids
If your website is not mobile-friendly, you don’t need to invest in mobile device advertising campaigns. However, if you have a responsive website (one that can adjust automatically to fit any device), you should definitely consider spending money on mobile-specific advertisements.
c)​ ​Keyword​ ​Match​ ​Types
There are three main keyword match types: broad, phrase, and exact. The default match type is set to “Broad.” As a result, Google will show your ad whenever a matching keyword or phrase is used. This match type has a higher chance of driving irrelevant traffic, which also increases your website’s bounce rate. With the “Phrase” match type, Google will display your ad when a user types a search query that matches the phrase you’ve selected. This match type gives you more control over who sees your ad in comparison to the “Broad” setting.
“Exact” match type is like a strict instructor. Google will only show your ad when a user types in the exact keyword in the search bar. While it gives you the most control, you’re also likely to get to less exposure; I suggest that you select “Phrase” match and you’ll be good to go.
d)​ ​Negative​ ​Keywords
These are a great way to block phrases that Google would otherwise use to show your ads. Negative keywords are what differentiate “designer women’s shoes” or “cheap women’s shoes” from the “women’s shoes” you sell on your site. Adding negative keywords saves you from unwanted traffic and less ROI.

10. Last but not least: optimize!
Nothing is perfect from the very beginning, and your AdWords campaigns will likely be no exception—even with careful planning. To make sure your campaigns are proving to be beneficial, you should monitor three important factors:
● Keyword​ ​Bids:​ The moment your website starts generating clicks and sales for you, you should think about optimizing your bids. You may want to raise your bids if your keywords are bringing you good sales but not a higher ranking. On the other hand, if the keywords are not generating profits, you’ll need to lower the bids or use other keywords altogether.
● Click​ ​Through​ ​Rate​ ​(CTR):​ Your website’s quality score, which is determined by Google, depends directly on your ad’s CTR. You need to test different ad campaigns to know which ones bring you the most clicks.
● Landing​ ​Page​ ​Conversion​ ​Rate:​ Remember, your landing page should offer what you promised in the ad, or the customer is likely to leave your website. A landing page that keeps the promise you made in your ad helps ensure higher conversion rates and, as a result, more profit. Test different versions of landing pages to know which version suits your campaign the best.

We hope you can use these 10 tips to start building your own effective AdWords campaigns. If you would like to dive deeper into the world of Online Advertising, you can check out the free courses from Google here.

Whello is always looking for motivated students who are interested in doing an excitingly challenging internship at our Whello office in Amsterdam-Noord! Click here to leave your motivation and contact details.

Last Thursday, the MAA had one of its biggest events of the year: the Amsterdam Marketing Event. While we enjoyed workshops and interesting meetings with recruiters, had our resume checked and had our new LinkedIn photo taken, we discovered a new trend in the world of marketing during the presentations of several companies: the construction industry. Perhaps construction wouldn’t pop to your mind at first when you think about marketing; but hey, there’s a whole new world with a lot of big chances to discover!

Thanks to our partner Hilti, the world leader construction supplier, we know that this industry is busy with building their own brand new marketing strategy. The construction industry has a lot to offer. Many companies are looking for the perfect marketing consultant to start their own online marketing campaign. Right now, Hilti is at the very beginning of something brand new: online marketing.

Started from the bottom, now we’re here (online)

You shouldn’t be surprised to read that online marketing is still quite unknown in the construction industry. This industry is traditional in many ways, as well as with their marketing tools. However, even in the conservative construction world, people want to buy and find more information online. Right now, the website of Hilti gets 20 percent of the total turnover online! Additionally, their sales are still increasing, the visibility is getting bigger, they’re more productive and their customers are more content. All because of starting marketing online.

Measuring everything

So where do you have to begin? And when do you know that you’re on track? According to Hilti, you have to measure everything. Which kind of posts on social media do work? And most importantly, why? They’ve found out that how-to movies work great. However, they shouldn’t be too long. For example, a four minute movie for Facebook does not work. On the other hand, it does the trick for LinkedIn. Hilti is simply doing what their customers are asking for. Which is why they’ve started with online product demonstrations and even involve their own customers in their online content.

Hilti is busy with creating a brand new marketing strategy that fits perfectly with the industry in which they are operating. At the moment, they are focusing on new services and software. In the future, they want to do more with marketing and digitization. They’ve just kick started their online marketing plan, but will need your help to make a great success of it!

Are you the talent they are looking for? Check out their vacancies now at https://careers.hilti.nl/nl-nl